In some cases, multiple Salesforce users may be working with the same Salesforce records in parallel, causing potential conflicts. When multiple users make updates to the same field, it's the most recent change uploaded to the Salesforce server that takes precedence.

With the above rule in mind, it's important to note that when a user is offline, the time at which a change is actually uploaded to the Salesforce server may come later than the time the user makes the change in the app. The time the user is online again is implemented as the time of change in Salesforce. Here are two scenarios that illustrate how sync conflicts are handled:


When the mobile user is online

  1. The mobile user sets the Priority field of a record to "High" at 2:05 PM in the mobile app. As they are online, the change is uploaded immediately to Salesforce at 2:05 PM.
  2. A colleague, via the web, sets the Priority field for the same record to "Medium" at 2:20 PM.
  3. In this scenario, the colleague's change takes precedence as it is the last change made to the record, and the Priority field will have a value of "Medium".


When the mobile user is offline 

  1. The mobile user is offline and sets the Priority field of a record to "High" at 2:05 PM in the mobile app.
  2. As they are offline, the change is held in the mobile app's pending queue until the user is back online.
  3. A colleague, via the web, sets the Priority field for the same record to "Medium" at 2:20 PM.
  4. The mobile user goes back online at 2:55 PM, at which point the pending queue is synced and the priority field change is uploaded to Salesforce at 2:55 PM.
  5. In this scenario, the mobile user's change takes precedence and the Priority field will have a value of "High".